1,000-yard rusher Williams saluted

Print Article

Jim Franz/Beloit Daily News Brodhead-Juda RB Jeffrey Williams (34) earned all-RVC First Team honors.

The Rock Valley Conference saw a surprise 9-0 season from McFarland and a terrific postseason run from Edgerton this season. There were also quite a few standout performances from local players on the gridiron, and that was reflected when the all-RVC team was recently announced.

Brodhead-Juda senior Jeffrey Williams rushed for 1,095 yards to earn first-team honors.

Joining him on the first team offensive unit were two members of the Big Foot Chiefs and a Clinton Cougar.

Big Foot's Aidan Greco was second in the conference with 649 rushing yards, and lineman Sam Dickerson was honored for his efforts.

Clinton's Sam Duggan, a senior lineman, also made first-team.

On the defensive side, Beloit Turner defensive back Sean McMillian was a first-team selection, as was lineman Jack Hereley from Big Foot, linebacker Nick Noonan from Brodhead-Juda and Clinton senior defensive back Riley Anastasi. Jordan Lietz of Edgerton was the defensive player of the year, while East Troy's Jake Dessart took home offensive player of the year honors.

Big Foot quarterback Logan Eischeid and Turner's Kenny Draeving each made second-team all-conference. Eischeid was second in the conference with 1,741 yards while throwing for 17 touchdowns. Draeving had 931 yards and 12 TD's.

Turner's Emiliano Reyes made the second team as an H-Back, as did AJ Courier of Big Foot. Chiefs kicker Jack Grunow made second-team as well. Clinton's Jackson Nelson was the second-team running back after rushing for 816 yards and seven touchdowns.

Lineman Trey Griinke of Beloit Turner earned second-team honors on offense, while his teammate Cory Walker made second-team defense. Brodhead-Juda junior Max Harding made second-team as a DB, while Clinton's Jacob Merimon made the team for his work on the defensive line. Seth Allen of Brodhead-Juda was the second-team punter, while Clinton's Nelson made the team as a linebacker as well. Big Foot's Jack Gillingham and Danny Hereley were also honored as second-teamers.

Earning honorable mention from Turner was Brady Card, Cody Krueger and Ryan Sennett. Big Foot placed Kollin Leidberg, Kyle Higgins and Konor Gerhardt on the honorable mention list, while Brodhead-Juda had a trio of juniors earn HM: Marco Bueno, Nick Naramore and Dalton Naramore.

Clinton's Mason Hesebeck, Caleb Willie and Jack Henschler earned honorable mention as well.

First team offense

QB: Derek Schwarting, McFarland; Jaden Johnson, Edgerton; RB: Dylan Jakscht, East Troy; Jeffery Williams, Brodhead-Juda; Devin Jorgensen, Edgerton; Tysen White, McFarland; WR: Aidan Greco, Big Foot; Sully Geske, Evansville-Albany, Reece Samuel, McFarland, Ben Sukow, Jefferson; TE: Jake Price, East Troy, Mason Simmons, Edgerton; OL: Sam Dickerson, BF; John Marschke, ET; Noah Bearce, ET; Sam Duggan, Clinton, Jordan Leitz, Edgerton, Reed Farrington, Edgerton, Drew Mickelson, McFarland; Jake Dessart, athlete; Kicker: Brett Wojciechowski.

First team defense

DE: Jacob Parent, Jefferson, Evan Blumer, Evansville-Albany, Jordan Lietz, Edgerton, Connor Frasier, McFarland; DL: Jack Hereley, Big Foot, Hunter Boettcher, Jefferson, Reed Farrington, Edgerton, John Skinner, East Troy, Zach Gunderson, McFarland; ILB: Nick Noonan, Brodhead-Juda; Nathan Hebbe, Jefferson, Ben Wileman, Edgerton, Cordel Kloth, McFarland; OLB: Justin Cusack, Jefferson, Mason Simmons, Edgerton, Reece Samuel, McFarland; DB: Zack Burke, ET; Riley Anastasi, Clinton; Skyler Gullickson, Edgerton; Tysen White, McFarland, Sean McMillian, Turner; Punter, Jack Dessart, East Troy.

Second team offense

QB: Logan Eisched, Big Foot; Kenny Draeving, Turner; RB: Jackson Nelson, Clinton, Noah Klawitter, Jefferson, Jeremiah Price-Johnson, McFarland; WR: Skyler Gullickson, Edgerton, Matthew Jostad, McFarland, Nicholas Hall, McFarland; TE: Aj Courier, Big Fot, Nano Reyes, Turner; OL: Jacob Miller, Brodhead-Juda, Noah Schultz, Jefferson; Trey Triinke, Turner; Mitch Roeder, McFarland; Arturo Franco, Whitewater, Clint Bergsma, Evansville-Albany, Ben Wileman, Edgerton, Bryce Thompson, McFarland; Athlete: Ryan Brost, Jefferson; Kicker: Jack Grunow, Big Foot.

Second team defense

DE: Josh Marshman, East Troy, Cory Kaiser, Jefferson, Xavier Schrieber, McFarland; DL: Jacob Merimon, Clinton, Cesar Ochoa, Edgerton, Valdon Islami, East Troy; ILB: Danny Hereley, Big Foot; Brandon Bakken, East Troy, Hunter Reilly, Edgerton, Carson Werwinski, McFarland; Jackson Nelson, Clinton; Christian Chesmore, Jefferson, Cory Wlaker, Turner; DB: Jack Gillingham, Big Foot, Max Harding, Brodhead-Juda, Carson Hill, Evansville-Albany, Ben Sukow, Jefferson, Vivek Tara, McFarland. Punter: Seth Allen, Brodhead-Juda.

Honorable mention:

Big Foot: Kollin Leidberg, Konor Gerhardt,; Brodhead-Juda: Marco Bueno, Nick Naramore, Dalton Naramore: Clinton: Mason Hesebeck, Caleb Willie, Jack Henschler; East Troy; Konnor Weber, Eli Newhouse, Logan Roberts; Edgerton: Bryce Tate, Sam Vietch, Jared Aokoh; Evansville-Albany: Jaden O'Bel, Seth Maag, Tyr Severson; Jefferson: Noah Heine, Connor Salerno, Korbgin Simdon; McFarland: Cam Schaaf, Henry Byers, Jack Hovland; Turner, Brady Card, Cody Krueger, Ryan Sennett; Whitewater: Hunter Martin, Cooper Pease, Dylan Pease.

Print Article

Read More Regional Sports

Local wrestlers storm Kohl Center

February 21, 2019 at 9:59 am | Beloit Daily News BELOIT - A defending state finals. A ferocious competitor. A grappler fighting off the flu. And another who's just happy to be there. That four some of local wrestlers will compete in this week's W...


Read More

OLA girls capture title

February 21, 2019 at 10:03 am | ...


Read More

Fury foiled in 2nd round

February 20, 2019 at 10:00 am | BELOIT - The postgame chat seemed more like a marathon session, but Luke Steurer wanted to leave his Rock County Fury with message after a 4-3 loss to Onalaska in a second-round WIAA Section 3 semifi...


Read More

HHS, King flatten CL Central

February 20, 2019 at 10:01 am | Beloit Daily News BELVIDERE, Ill. - As they have so often this season, the Hononegah Indians and Jordan King made it look easy Tuesday night. The Indians defeated an overwhelmed and over-matched Crystal Lake Central...


Read More

Contact Us

(608) 365-8811
149 State Street
Beloit, WI 53511

©2019 Beloit Daily News Terms of Use Privacy Policy