JANESVILLE—Educators, government officials and a non-profit organization leader are among this year’s honorees in the YWCA Rock County’s Women of Distinction.

The honor is bestowed on women who serve as role models for others and and who are community-focused. They have been nominated by friends and co-workers. A committee made up of YWCA board members and staff make the final selections.

This year’s Women of Distinction are:

––Lori Stottler, clerk-treasurer for the City of Beloit

––Evelyn Galindo, Spanish teacher for the School District of Beloit

––Marijuana Pepsi Vandyck, inclusive excellence lecturer at the University of Wisconsin—Whitewater

––Mary Fanning-Penny, CEO and president of the United Way Blackhawk Region

––Abbey Donahue, engineer with SHINE Medical Technologies

Also, Gabriella Petruzzello, a student at Janesville-Craig High School will be honored as a Young Woman of Distrinction.

“Each one of the recipients goes above and beyond in their personal and professional lives,” said Angela Moore, YWCA Rock County executive director. “The recipients tackle key issues facing women and girls in Rock County, and they give back in their communities.”

The recipients will be honored at the annual Women of Distinction (Her Night to Shine) Gala on April 23 at the Pontiac Convention Center in Janesville.

The event raises funds for YWCA Rock County’s Transitions program.

Transitions not only provides domestic violence survivors housing and resources to re-gain independence, it also provides economic resources for community members meant to empower women.

More information on the Her Night to Shine Gala can be found at the website at https://www.ywcarockcounty.org/.