Parkview hall of fame

(From left): Nikki Burrell, Sara Freitag and Leon Klusmeyer are photographed after being inducted into the Parkview Athletic Hall of Fame.

ORDFORDVILLE—The Parkview 2020 Athletic Hall of Fame inducted three new members on Feb. 7. New members were Nikki (Wells) Burrell, Sara (Hartin) Freitag and Leon Klusmeyer.

Nikki Burrell was inducted for her distinguished service. Burrell was a 1995 graduate who participated in basketball, volleyball and track & field. She was named team captain in basketball, volleyball and track & field, member of the 1992 regional title team in basketball, name second team all-conference in both basketball and volleyball and a track & field sectional qualifier. She was awarded the Distinguished Service award for proposing and helping implement the spotlight introductions used home basketball games. She proposed it in 2017 and it’s been used ever since, with Burrell announcing the players.

Sara Freitag was a 1992 graduate. She was a two-time all-conference and all-area selection, 1992 Conference Player of the Year, Beloit Daily News All-Area Player of the Year, All-State Honorable Mention (92) WBCA All-Star team member (92), three-time letter winner, two-time team MVP, member of two regional title teams and one conference title team in basketball. In softball Freitag was a two-time letter winner, two-time all-conference selection and a member of the 1992 conference title team. She was also letter winner in volleyball and cross country and the 1992 Parkview Female Athlete of the Year.

Leon Klusmeyer was a 1983 graduate He was a two-time Individual State Meet qualifier, finished second at state as a junior and third at state as a senior, won one Individual Sectional title, two Individual Conference titles, member of one Conference title team, team MVP, team most- improved twice and a three time letter winner in wrestling. He went on to wrestle at UW-Whitewater. He was also a member of the 1980 WIAA State Meet track team, member of one Sectional title team, member of two Conference title team and a four-time letter winner in track. He was named most improved as a sophomore and a three-time letter winner in football.