Bucs give out three ‘B’ blankets - Beloit Daily News: Sports

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Bucs give out three ‘B’ blankets

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, April 25, 2013 4:00 pm

Beloit College presented “B” Blanket Awards, the highest honor a senior athlete can receive, to track performer Erika Moen and men’s soccer standouts Marc Robinson and Jackson Wilkins. 

The presentations were made Tuesday night at Flood Arena at a banquet sponsored by the Beloit College Student-Athletic Activities Committee and the Department of Athletics.

In addition to the long-standing departmental awards, SAAC developed several additional awards for 2012-13.

2010 alum Joe Davis, a former Buccaneer Football player and now a play-by-play announcer for ESPN, served as the master of ceremonies for the event.

Other awards presented included:

• Highest Individual GPA:

Women’s tennis — Emma Beck.                      

Women’s soccer — Kelsi Brooks.

Women’s swimming & diving — Nora Harty-Holte.

Women’s basketball and volleyball — Leah Kruckman.

Women’s cross country and track & field — Camilla Jackson.

Softball — Tara Grode.

Women’s lacrosse — Dora Maslinski.

Football — Raymond Thomas.

Men’s soccer — Duncan Gillis.

Men’s swimming & diving — Richard Cotter.

Men’s cross country and track & field — Jason Busack.

Men’s basketball — James Lazarcik.

Baseball — Ethan Blumenthal.

• Female Freshman of the Year: Lana Wieseman, women’s basketball

• Male Freshman of the Year: Steve McAfee, Jr., men’s basketball.

• Female Sophomore of the Year: Caitlin Paterson, women’s soccer/women’s lacrosse.

• Male Sophomore of the Year: Will McAneney, men’s swimming & diving.

• Inspirational Athlete of the Year: Kandace Fox, women’s basketball/softball.

• Record-Breaking Performance of the Year: James Lazarcik, men’s basketball.

• Best Upset of the Year: Men’s soccer.

• Team of the Year: Men’s soccer.


   The Joe Kobylka Award is given each year to one female and one male senior athlete who have best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship and team spirit throughout their careers.

Joe Kobylka Award-Female — Rachel Skoza, Volleyball.

Joe Kobylka Award-Male — Jason Busack, Cross country/Track & field.

The Ed DeGeorge Award recognizes outstanding academic and athletic performances along with a commitment to service.  

The recipients will have attended Beloit at the least three academic years, have a GPA of at least 3.25 and have participated at least three years in varsity athletics.  In addition, recipients must have demonstrated a commitment to service as a student and be preparing to enter a service profession.  

Ed DeGeorge Award-Male — Matt McKay, Cross country/Track & field.

The Ruth Peterson Award was named after the former Beloit president who was also one of the leaders in the founding of the Midwest Athletic Conference for Women.  The honor goes each year to the senior female athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

Peterson Award — Erika Moen, Track & field.

The Pat Dawson Award has been given out since 1968 in honor of 1925 Beloit graduate Pat Dawson and goes to the senior male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

Dawson Award — Marc Robinson, Men’s soccer.

  • Discuss

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Print ads