Knights' Fair on All-Big 8 squad

Print Article

BELOIT - Two Beloit Memorial basketball players were honored when the Big Eight announced its All-Conference teams.

Trayvon "Bonzy" Fair made the Second Team for the boys, while fellow senior Aniah Willams was a Second Team honoree on the girls side.

Fair averaged 15.8 points per game for the Knights while also leading the team in assists. The Purple Knights play at Madison East Friday night in a WIAA Division 1 regional game.

Sun Prairie's Marlon Ruffin was named Player of the Year after leading the Cardinals to a conference title, which ended a 14-year run of crowns for Madison Memorial.

Williams, a four-year varsity player, averaged a team-best 12.3 points and 2.4 steals per game. The Knights won two games this season, marking the first time the program had more than one win in a season since the 2013-2014 season.

Erin Howard, who has committed to play for Auburn University next season, was named Player of the Year after a terrific season for Madison East.


• FIRST TEAM: Brogan Brunker, Sr. Middleton; Donnell Gray, Jr. Madison La Follette; Jalen Johnson, So. Sun Prairie; Keshawn Justice, Sr. Madison East; Marlon Ruffin, Sr. Sun Prairie.

• SECOND TEAM: Nick Caropreso, Jr. Madison Memorial; Cade Ellingson, Jr. Madison Memorial; Trayvon Fair, Sr. Beloit Memorial; Blake McCann, Sr. Janesville Craig; Troy Reeves, Jr. Madison La Follette

• THIRD TEAM: Bui Clements, Sr. Verona Area; Taylor Jansen, Sr. Sun Prairie; Jacob Ngobi, Sr. Janesville Craig; Marty Strey, Sr. Sun Prairie; Anthony Washington, So. Madison East; Anthony West, Sr. Madison LaFollette

• HONORABLE MENTION: Chris Galvan, Sr. Janesville Parker, Alan Roden, Sr. Middleton, Kishawn Shanklin, Sr. Madison West

Coach of the Year: Jeff Boos, Sun Prairie.

Player of the Year: Marlon Ruffin, Sr., Sun Prairie.

Defensive Player of the Year: Elliott Grays, Sr., Madison Memorial.


• FIRST TEAM: Justice Filip, Sr. Madison East; Julia Hartwig, Jr. Janesville Parker; Erin Howard, Sr. Madison East; Jayda Jansen, Sr. Sun Prairie; Leilani Kapinus, So. Madison Memorial

• SECOND TEAM: Chandler Bainbridge, Sr. Verona; Kate Carlson, Forward Sr. Madison West; Kaytlin Eder, Jr. Madison La Follette; Cassie Goswick, So. Janesville Craig; Grace Hilber, Jr. Sun Prairie; Aniah Williams, Sr. Beloit Memorial.

• THIRD TEAM: Haley Dunn, Sr. Middleton; Elle Moore, Jr. Sun Prairie; Emily Pierson, Jr. Janesville Craig; Nyen Riak So. Madison La Follette.

• HONORABLE MENTION: Rayna Briggs, So. Verona; Daiysha Brown, So. Madison Memorial; Carly Coulthart, Sr. Sun Prairie; Sitori Tanin, So. Middleton.

Coach of the Year: Will Green, Madison La Follette.

Player of the Year: Erin Howard, Sr., Madison East.

Defensive Player of the Year: Leilani Kapinus, So., Madison Memorial.

Print Article

Read More Regional Sports

Indians break through against Knights

September 25, 2018 at 10:21 am | Beloit Daily News ROCKTON- It was a tale of two sidelines after Monday night's soccer game between Beloit Memorial and Hononegah. The host school walked off with big smiles, the visitors boarded the bus shaking thei...


Read More

Purple Knights stay hot, beat Greendale

September 25, 2018 at 10:23 am | Beloit Daily News GREENDALE, Wis. - The Beloit Memorial boys volleyball team kept rolling with a four-game victory over host Greendale Monday night. The Purple Knights, fresh off a weekend victory in their own Inv...


Read More

Arkes, Knaggs lead Beloit College in race

September 25, 2018 at 10:27 am | BELOIT - Daniel Arkes and Frances Knaggs were the first to cross the finish line leading the Beloit College men to a third-place finish and the women to second at the Olde English Invitational Satu...


Read More

Regents pull away from Beloit, 38-13

September 24, 2018 at 10:53 am | Beloit Daily News MADISON, Wis. - The Beloit Memorial football team dropped to 1-5 with a 38-13 loss to Madison West Friday night. The Purple Knights trailed 12-0 in the second quarter when Jaron Coleman took a ki...


Read More

Contact Us

(608) 365-8811
149 State Street
Beloit, WI 53511

©2018 Beloit Daily News Terms of Use Privacy Policy